954-385-9160
1655 North Commerce Parkway, Suite 201
Weston, FL 33326
Welcome

Crimes against Property

Under Florida law, a person may be charged with a crime against property if he is accused of taking, destroying, or intruding on another person’s property. These crimes never involve force or threats against the owner of said property. But that does not mean that they are minor offenses. A charge of dealing in stolen property, for example, is classified as a second degree felony and is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

The most common crime against property is grand theft. Just like homicide, there are three different degrees of the crime, each of which is based on the type and value of the items that were allegedly stolen. The state may enter a charge of grand theft of the first degree if the value of the property was worth more than $100,000 or if it was shipping cargo that was valued at over $50,000. Judges in Florida are required to impose a mandatory minimum sentence of at least 21 months and a maximum of 30 years in prison for people who are convicted of this crime.

Another common crime against property is burglary. The crime can be committed in one of two ways: a person unlawfully enters a structure, conveyance, or dwelling with the intention of committing a crime, or, a person legally enters a structure, conveyance, or dwelling with the intention of committing a crime. In other words, permission is not important, intent is.

No matter where or how it allegedly occurs, burglary charges are serious business in the Sunshine State. If convicted of this second degree felony, a person may be sentenced to a $10,000 fine, 15 years of probation, 15 years in prison or any combination of the three. The Law Firm of Evan H. Baron and Associates can help!

No matter how serious the charges may be, there are several affirmative defenses to crimes against property. After he and his team have examined the facts of the case and interviewed witnesses, they will begin to build a solid defense strategy. This may include evidence of consent. What this means is that the defendant had the right to enter the conveyance, structure, or dwelling. It doesn’t matter if permission was given verbally or in writing, if the accused had permission, the charges may be reduced or dismissed.

To speak to one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys today, please call (954) 385-9160, or send us an email.