954-385-9160
1655 North Commerce Parkway, Suite 201
Weston, FL 33326
Criminal Defense Attorney

DUI

The state of Florida has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation. Courts in all counties follow the implied consent law, which means that all drivers with a valid Florida license must submit to a chemical test if requested by a police officer. If a motorist refuses, he will be subject to automatic license suspension and fines.

Florida also follows a per se BAC (blood alcohol content) level of .08 for all drivers over 21. Underage drivers are subject to the state’s zero tolerance law, which stipulates that anyone under the age of 21 caught driving with a BAC of .02% or higher can be charged with a DUI. What are penalties?

The state takes underage drinking and driving very seriously, which is why sentences are fairly consistent. A first offense for this crime typically results in a 6-month suspension of driving privileges and a 1-year suspension for a second conviction. If the driver refuses to submit to a BAC test, his license will automatically be suspended for one year on the first offense and 18 months for the second one.

Florida is just as tough on motorists over the age of 21 who drink and drive. A DUI conviction typically involves criminal and administrative charges. The criminal charges are based on the BAC of the driver and how many DIU convictions he has on his record. The administrative charges often include suspension of driving privileges, fines, and community service. For habitual offenders, the court may order the motorist to enroll in a drug treatment program.

But even first-time offenders are subject to heavy fines and possible jail time. A motorist who has a spotless driving record and is caught driving with a BAC of .08 (the legal limit) may be sentenced to 6 months behind bars. The judge can also suspend his license for one year and order him to pay a fine of $500 to $2,000, based on the results of the BAC test.

As you might expect, the criminal and administrative charges are far more serious for multiple offenders. They may be subject to mandatory jail time and have their driving privileges suspended for life. Habitual offenders must also pay minimum fines; the maximum amounts are at the judge’s discretion.

If you or someone you know has been charged with driving under the influence, it is important to seek legal consul as soon as possible. To schedule a free initial consultation with one of our experienced DUI attorneys, please call (954) 385-9160.