954-385-9160
1655 North Commerce Parkway, Suite 201
Weston, FL 33326
Criminal Defense Attorney

Suspended License

A licensed motorist in Florida may have his driving privileges suspended for a number of reasons. It may be the result of a specific crime, such as a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI), or for failure to pay traffic tickets or fines. Both the Court and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) have the authority to temporarily suspend the licenses of any driver in the state.

What does it mean?

During the suspension, that person cannot operate a motor vehicle for any reason, even if there’s an emergency. If the suspended motorist continues to drive and is pulled over by the police, far more serious consequences will ensue. Though the crime is considered a misdemeanor, it carries with it additional fines and the possibility of jail time.

Like most other crimes that are committed in the Sunshine State, the charges depend on the number of offenses the motorist has been convicted of. For a first offense of driving with a suspended license, a driver can be charged with a second degree misdemeanor, which may result in 60 days behind bars and a maximum fine of $500. If he is convicted a second time of the same offense, the maximum fines and jail times are doubled. A third conviction will automatically be entered as a third degree felony, which may result in 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. The Law Firm of Evan H. Baron and Associates can help!

There are many plausible and even understandable reasons why you may have made the mistake of driving on a suspended license. As good a job as they may do, the Florida DHSMV is not perfect. Perhaps they sent the letter informing you that your driving privileges had been suspended or revoked to the wrong address.

If you honestly did not know that your license had been suspended, their charges may be hard to prove. In these cases, Mr. Baron or one of his associates may ask the prosecution (the State) to produce evidence that proves you were informed of the suspension. Since the burden of proof is on them, if they cannot do so, the charges may not stand.

To schedule a free initial consultation with one of our experienced traffic violations attorneys, please call (954) 385-9160, or send us an email.